About this webinar

Please join The Cultural Research Network this Thursday, 4/30/2020 for a virtual conversation about lessons learned from Contagious Cities. Contagious Cities was an international cultural project which supported local conversations around the global challenges of epidemic preparedness. It ran from September 2018 to September 2019. Here at The Graduate Center CUNY's Center for the Humanities, we hosted the project's New York City artist-in-residence, Mariam Ghani, as she worked to create an original film, Dis-ease.

Are we ready to face the global challenge of Covid-19 pandemic outbreak? Do we know how microbes, migration and metropolises cohabitate or relate to each other? Can we tap into the artistic and cultural creativity to better understand the global infectious diseases or even investigate how they travel across urban and human borders?

The webinar will raise and discuss these questions in a live conversation with artists, curators, researchers and cultural producers of the Contagious Cities. This international cultural project was developed by Wellcome Trust in 2018 to mark the centenary of the 1918 flu pandemic that infected a third of the world’s population and killed 50 million people. The webinar will share important insights from the Contagious Cities project, that brought together international curators, artists and scientists through residences across New York, Hong Kong and Geneva to explore how epidemics spread in urban environments.

The webinar will be available via Zoom. Click here to register and for access to the link.

Panelists:

Ken Arnold - Creative Director at Wellcome (London, UK)

Sarah Henry - Chief Curator and Deputy Director at the Museum of the City of New York (New York, USA)

Ying Kwok - Curator of Contagious Cities: Far Away, Too Close at Tai Kwun Contemporary (Hong Kong, China)

Matt Adams - Co-founder of Blast Theory (London, UK) James Doeser - Freelance cultural researcher (London, UK)

Moderator:

Natalia Grincheva (Moscow, Russia)

Date & Time: April 30, 2020: New York 8:30 AM; London 1:30 PM; Moscow 3:30 PM; Hong Kong 8:30 PM; Sydney 10:30 PM

Register: Click here to register for access to the Zoom link.

This event is sponsored and organized by The Cultural Research Network.

Tags